Women on the $20 bill national campaign

The field of candidates to replace Andrew Jackson on the twenty dollar bill in time for the 100th anniversary of the ratification of the 19th Amendment has been narrowed down to four finalists: Eleanor Roosevelt, Harriet Tubman, Rosa Parks and Wilma Mankiller. More than half of 256,659 voters chose Roosevelt, Tubman and Parks as one of their top three choices.

Mankiller, a Cherokee Chief who received the Medal of Freedom in 1998 and died in 2010, was added due to strong sentiment in favor of including a Native American. Jackson owned slaves and signed the Indian Removal Act of 1830. Several tribes were forced to march to Oklahoma, where Mankiller was born and lived. Thousands of Native Americans died during this atrocity known as “The Trail of Tears.”

Voting is now open to choose the winning candidate to be presented to President Obama, whom, it is hoped, will support the change in imagery on U.S. currency. Vote at http://www.womenon20s.org/vote2.